Wesley, McGrail & Wesley PLLC Wesley, McGrail & Wesley
866-445-5849
850-226-5051
CLICK HERE TO CALL NOW
866-445-5849850-226-5051

How to protect yourself from uninsured drivers in Florida

Florida law requires that every vehicle with four or more wheels is covered by auto insurance. At the very least, all vehicles must carry $10,000 in personal injury protection and another $10,000 in property damage liability.

However, not everyone follows the laws. In fact, 23 percent of drivers in Florida do not carry insurance, making it the state with the second-highest percent of uninsured motorists, reports the Insurance Information Institute.

Serious wrecks can lead to extremely expensive vehicle repairs, medical expenses and related costs such as lost wages.

Many people rely on auto insurance to cover these costs, but this isn't possible when the other driver doesn't carry insurance, or carries minimal coverage that is not enough to cover the damages caused.

There is no way of knowing when a motor vehicle accident will occur, or which drivers on the road lack insurance. The best thing you can do is take steps to protect yourself.

As we discussed at length in an article on our website, there are five basic steps Florida drivers can take:

Always drive cautiously and defensively.

Some accidents cannot be avoided, but many can be by practicing cautious and defensive driving. This means avoiding all distractions, following the speed limit and keeping an eye out for other drivers.

Understand the laws of your state.

Florida requires all drivers to carry personal injury protection and property damage liability but not bodily injury liability insurance, which results in many drivers being underinsured and unable to pay for your damages after causing an accident.

Consider getting uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

The only sure way to protect yourself is by getting additional coverage to protect yourself from uninsured or underinsured drivers. Yes, it costs extra, but it could end up saving you money in the long run.

Make sure to get the other driver's information after a wreck.

It may be necessary to file a lawsuit after being involved in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver, so getting accurate and thorough documentation is extremely important.

Seek assistance from an experienced personal injury lawyer.

It can be very difficult to obtain compensation for your injuries and property damage following an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. It is likely that you will need an experienced attorney on your side, fighting aggressively for your rights.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Office Location:

Wesley, McGrail & Wesley PLLC
88 Eglin Parkway NE
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548

Toll Free: 866-445-5849
Phone: 850-226-5051
Fax: 850-244-0973
Fort Walton Beach Law Office Map

Back to Top